Crazy thoughts

Laurie A.
on 1/5/12 7:02 pm
RNY on 08/21/12
I don't know if I am getting nervous, or if these are legitamate concerns, but has anyone thought about what it will be like after having this surgery when they are 80+ years old? Maybe it's because I'm a nurse and take care of the elderly often at work, but I worry about the fact we don't absorb correctly and how that will effect me in my elder years. Will I be able to get enough nutrition in to maintain myself, if not would they be able to put in a tube for nutrition even though the pouch is so small and would that then give me dumping syndrome? I know these are weird ideas/thoughts. I couldn't sleep last night and when that happens, I get weird ideas like this. Any thoughts would be great.
The Lord will not give me more than I can handle! Through Him, all things are possible!!        
Winnie_the_Pooh
on 1/5/12 7:26 pm
Yes,  I have.  I working in nursing homes in years so I thought about the dietary and vitamin needs and struggles I would have if I ended up in a nursing home.  On the flip side I have decided without the surgery I probably would not see 80.

Winnie

missjann
on 1/5/12 7:34 pm
This surgery has been done, albeit now improved, for years so there
is quite a history of good outcomes. Of course, the vitamin regimen must
be maintained, and the appropriate labs, but that's what we signed on for.
I'd rather be doing this and taking my vitamins every day than the handfuls
of meds I was on before the surgery. I had every chance of not seeing 80
without the surgery.
    Jan

Kat Kat
on 1/5/12 7:35 pm - AZ