Hi Everybody...A Newbie Here

Lena72
on 1/28/12 8:21 am - Greenville, NC
RNY on 03/21/12
Hi everybody, my name is Lena. I decided to stop lurking around the site and join it. I'm looking into having the RNY. I have Medicare and a secondary insurance and they both cover the surgery. When I finally decided to really going along with the surgery, I called Medicare and asked did they cover the surgery and what were the requirements. They said, it has to be at a center of excellence, and you have to have a bmi of at least 35 with a comorbiity. They also want to know that you tried to lose weight before. I specifically asked if the 6 month supervised diet was needed, she said no.

So when I heard that I was very excited. I took off this semester of law school so I can be well by the time classes start back in August. I then went to a bariatric center here in NC and got the SHOCK OF MY LIFE!!!! At the orientation, I was told that Medicare does require the 6 month supervised diet. I explained to the nurse that I spoke with someone at Medicare and was told they did not require it. The nurse then explained to me that its the local medicare that can also add restrictions for that state. ARE YOU KIDDING ME????? I don't have time for a supervised diet, Remember I have to go back to law school in August. So, I started researching other states and I found that NJ's Medicare doesn't require the supervised diet, so I'll be flying up there on Tuesday to meet with the surgeon. My PCP and the surgeon's office are already in constant contact. Let's see how this works out...
emtchick
on 1/28/12 8:35 am - bridegport , NY