Anyone have experience with a Bipolar parent?

poet_kelly
on 4/3/12 12:05 pm - OH
So I would just continue that after your surgery.  Set boundaries, limit your time with her, end the visit if she gets inappropriate in any way.  You might not want her to visit you in the hospital or as soon as you get home.  You can just tell her you'll be sleeping a lot and that you'd rather wait to visit when you feel a little better.

If she's calling you all the time, you could give her a certain time that is good to call, like from 5:00 to 8:00 pm, and just not answer when she calls at other times.

This is one of those situations where you've got to keep reminding yourself that her illness is leading her to say inappropriate things and you can't listen or take it personally.  You have to stay detatched a little.  You can't buy into her moods.  I know that's much easier said than done.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

artroxy blue
on 4/3/12 12:11 pm - MA
RNY on 08/14/12
 Thanks! 

I know she can't control it, and I've been working very hard to keep her at a distance. I can't afford to get swallowed up in all that drama anymore. I do set limits and she doesn't respect them, so I call her when it's convenient, or when I have to change a poopy diaper. LOL Can't talk long with one of those!
Tonya499
on 4/3/12 9:49 pm - Riverton, UT
 My daughter is bipolar and refuses medication.  I'm sorry you have to deal with it with your mom.  It's a tough disease!

Start weight 226. Surgery weight 218 on 1/6/12    
artroxy blue
on 4/3/12 10:42 pm - MA
RNY on 08/14/12