Hello Everyone...I'm New to This, But Excited

cinchosis
on 4/4/12 9:24 am - Lilburn, GA
RNY on 03/29/12
Okay, so this is my first post and I am just wanting to write and see who else is out there that may have recently had surgery, or has some great pointers as I start this journey. I had a RNY on March 29, 2012 - yes, just last week! I was released from the hospital Saturday afternoon and I am finding that I miss my food. I'm trying not to, but I just do. It's not like I want pizza or a burger...I just want to eat something other than having a shake. I do understand I need to give my body time to heal, but when I see my family still sitting around having turkey sandwiches, fried chicken, french fries, etc.. , and then I look down at an 8 oz. shake that I barely even like - it just made the first week home very difficult. So, I told a friend this evening of my struggles and she suggested that I get out here and find people that were in, or had been, in the same position as a way to divert my attention to something else. I can say after surfing this website and looking at some of the tools that I can use every day to track my progress, I do feel more encouraged. Also, as I am writing this, I am feeling a bit more relieved to be doing something else. It's not that I am hungry, because I am not. I have just been on a liquid diet for a week and it is just driving me crazy while everyone else is just going on eating. Of course everyone else around me is in shape, something that I want to be. Well, I just wanted to take a moment to write something and see who is out there. If there was anyone that I could connect with as I start this journey because I need something else to look forward to other than food.
Jessica A.
on 4/4/12 10:06 am - Auburn, AL