a quick little potty question

Chipples5
on 5/6/12 12:31 am, edited 5/6/12 12:48 am
I had surgery on Monday 4/30. I have not had a BM since Sunday 4/29. I took about an ounce of milk of magnesia recommended by my doctor last night. I still have not had a BM though. I am not in pain, I have NO problem passing gas but I can't get anything to move. People keep talking about bowel obstructions and how they can be deadly. Does this seem like its going there? What should I do other than call my doc again?

poet_kelly
on 5/6/12 12:47 am - OH
Do you feel constipated?  Maybe you just don't need to poop.  If you've been on all liquids for a while, there would not be much solid waste in there.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Chipples5
on 5/6/12 12:55 am
I don't feel constipated but I've never been so I don't know what to expect. (feel like an idiot for saying that) I have been having tons of protein drinks and I had a jar of chicken baby food and a little small curd cottage cheese but all protein drinks otherwise. Wouldn't there be something? I feel like a week is too long to not have a BM for anyone and I'd rather catch the big problems sooner than later. Maybe I'm overthinking and doing it to myself.
Erik0409
on 5/6/12 1:22 am - NJ
RNY on 03/15/12
are you taking in a lot of protein?  If not that can be the reason why.  You may not have enough in your system to come out as a solid.  In the begining (1st few weeks) I had a lot of explosive BMs which were basically a 1 plop diahrea. I actually liked them better then the constipation I suffered later on and still working to overcome.

soozieq
on 5/6/12 1:43 am