Cortisone Shots for Hair Loss?

poet_kelly
on 6/3/12 5:13 am - OH
An adult vitamin with 100% of the RDA of things, like the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery recommends all RNY patients take, would probably help.  Flintstones is very low in biotin, among other things they are low in or lacking altogether.  They are not adequate for RNY patients at all, but the lack of biotin in them may contribute to hair loss.  A quality ADULT multi is important for us all.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

DetroitGirl
on 6/2/12 11:42 pm
 My hair still grows pretty fast, it's just very thin now. I've struggled with anemia for years but I had a blood transfusion in February and my iron has been great since then. I was hoping to see some baby hairs but nothing yet. I'm back on biotin, so I guess I'll just keep hoping...
Kim H.
on 6/3/12 12:10 am - VA
RNY on 07/11/11 with
From what I've read the biotin is really not that helpful. I would attack it more from a nutritional standpoint. If you're anemic- to the point of requiring a transfusion- that's really very serious. If you're not absorbing iron, what is your absorption of other nutrients like? Really, even though it sucks, I'm not surprised your hair isn't growing because your body sounds like it's under constant stress. Keep working on your anemia and improving your overall nutritional health and see if then your hair improves. I think it will.

I am my own hero...I save myself one day, one meal, one bite, one choice, one challenge, one step at a time...
DetroitGirl
on 6/3/12 1:33 am