Eating post-op

Wirick27
on 6/6/12 3:40 am
 I'm three weeks post op and every time I eat I feel nauseas..... Is that normal.
Rick White
on 6/6/12 3:51 am
RNY on 03/26/12
The most common side effect. It gets better! Best wishes!

poet_kelly
on 6/6/12 3:53 am - OH
It's not really abnormal, but not everyone experiences that.  There is probably something causing it that can/should be fixed.

does it happen with everything you eat or just some things?

How much do you eat at a time?  If you eat less at a time, does that help?

are you eating too fast?  Does slowing down/chewing more help?

Do you throw up or just feel nauseous?  And how bad is the nausea?  Is it something that just feels icky for a few minutes, or is it so bad you can't eat much?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Wirick27
on 6/6/12 4:08 am
 Its pretty much with everything...I'm usually only able to get about 1/4 cup of anything down...sometimes more like 1/2 cup but very rarely. I try to take the 30min to eat slowly. I just get the nausea have not had anything come up since surgery, & it lasts for like 30 min every time I eat.
poet_kelly
on 6/6/12 4:09 am - OH
Do you have meds for nausea?  If not, you could call your doc and ask them to call in a script for you.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Dagne Tripplehorn
on 6/6/12 4:11 am - OR
RNY on 04/06/12