Does More Protein Help Prevent Hair Loss??

WifeMama
on 7/21/12 1:29 am
RNY on 06/21/12
So I've seen a lot of posts about hair loss.  I'm only 4 weeks out so I'm not to that 3-4 month mark yet, but I was wondering if anyone knew about this.  If you eat more protein and keep your levels high (75-90gm/day) will that help prevent hair loss, or is it just an inevitable part of this process?  I realize there are things that come with the WLS "deal" so I'm not complaining, just want to prepare.  Thanks guys! 
poet_kelly
on 7/21/12 1:38 am - OH
There are a number of things that can cause hair loss, and lack of protein is one of them.  So getting enough protein will prevent hair loss due to lack of protein, yes.  However, hair loss can also be a side effect of general anesthesia, and protein will not counteract that.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

gbsinsatx
on 7/21/12 1:40 am - San Antonio, TX
 It is generally inevitable. No amount of protein, supplements, shampoos, creams, lotions or potions will stop the process. Your hair will usually become thinner and it will grow back. Don't waste your time, energy or money trying to stop it because it won't work. For most of us, it is not that bad.

Age at RNY: 55, Height: 5'4", Consultation Weight: 331 lbs-12/1/2009, RNY Surgery Weight: 281 lbs-3/22/2010, Goal Weight Reached: 141 lbs-6/23/2011, Lowest Weight: 126 lbs-12/11/2011

Current Age: 61, Current Weight: 161 lbs-5/20/2016Total Weight Loss Maintained: 170 lbs  

Lady Lithia
on 7/21/12 2:02 am