The hospital stay...

jjsparkilzz
on 8/2/12 7:37 am - Selden, NY
For all you post-ops... what would you reccommend packing to bring to the hosp for after the surgery?
poet_kelly
on 8/2/12 7:42 am - OH
Very little.  Chapstick, your tooth brush, toothpaste, stuff like that.

Wear comfy clothes to the hospital and wear the same outfit home.  Wear the hospital gown there, it's easier than bringing your own pj's.   Don't take a lot of books or other stuff to do because you won't need it.  You'll mostly be dozing.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

juleskar
on 8/2/12 7:48 am
The bare minimums, like Kelly said. I left all my stuff in my dad's car, because they didn't assign a room to me until after I was done in recovery. I brought a small toothbrush, travel sized tooth paste, deodorant, lotion & Chapstick. I also had my own pillow. I used the hospital's shampoo, soap and face cloths. I wore the sweatpants and t-shirt home, that I wore when I was admitted. Oh yah, I did bring a change of underwear.
GraceGirl
on 8/2/12 7:52 am
Ipod its loud at night and music drowns it out...chapstick...I changed into a tank and shorts on day 2 after the catheter came out was SO nice not to worry about the "gown" Also a brush they give yoyu a toothbrush and a few things but if you like your own bring that stuff.

"If you're interested in achieving success, you'll do what's convenient. When you are committed to success, you'll do whatever it takes."

ShebasMom
on 8/2/12 7:58 am
Revision on 07/05/16
You will definitely need a lip moisterizer, something I wished I had after my surgery. I agree with above posts, bare minimum.

HW322 SW296 GW150 LW196 

RNY 8-29-11