Any suggestions on what to feed the family the couple of weeks after surgery.

dinas27
on 9/11/12 10:25 am - IL
RNY on 09/10/12
Hello...I recently had my surgery (yesterday) and doing great! Now I'm wondering what kind of things I can cook/or make for my family for dinner that is healthy and easy to make?

Thanks in advance!

Dina
soozieq
on 9/11/12 3:31 am, edited 9/11/12 3:31 am
Girl, don't you DARE cook for them.  Buy freezer meals, pizzas, etc etc or let them get take out.

If you really want to cook (which I didn't and I'm a chef!) then stick with easy meals so you don't overdo it.  You're still recovering.

Edited to add:  You might feel great today, and that's most likely because the pain meds are in your system and lingering meds from your surgery.  It'll catch up with you.  Trust me.  I really over did it the first week after my surgery and I came to regret it and made my recovery much longer.
Suzanne    RNY:  4/17/12  -   HW:  267  -   SW: - 256  -   GW:  150           
Kay L.
on 9/11/12 10:36 am - N., AL
Give them grilled chicken or rotisserie chicken and salad several nights in a row. After that, they'll leave you alone and order something. LOL! Just kidding. (maybe)
macjuicy
on 9/11/12 11:15 am - FL
Luckily we have a local restaurant that do cantinas basically dinner 7 days a week all we do is pick up and dinners ready

For Movie reviews goto my Blog 

www.gastricgeek.com

Oxford Comma Hag
on 9/11/12 11:38 am

A big pan of lasagna, a pot roast, a pan of stuffed shells, a vat of chili. Something that will go for several meals. I was on full liquids for three weeks, so it didn't matter to me what they were eating.

There were times when I didn't want to cook the first few days and times when I didn't mind. The bigger challenge for me what not tasting everything I was cooking. I learned in a hurry to cook by what I remembered stuff tasted like and by my sense of smell. This is not the time to try new recipes!

good luck and keep us posted