Getting back on track with vitamins

solise
on 9/26/12 5:50 am - Brooklyn, NY
Im trying to get back on track with my vitamins since my hair has started falling out again. Anyone know how much D3 i need daily?
(deactivated member)
on 9/26/12 6:07 am
Depends what your labs say.  And since your hair is falling out, what DO they say? Hair falling out (unless you're newly post op) is almost always low ferritin and/or a lack of protein.
hlacy
on 9/26/12 6:37 am - Chandler, AZ
I was taking a 10,000 IU tab daily, and my D3 labs were high normal range. I am just taking half of it now.
"Keep a green tree in your heart and perhaps a singing bird will come"           

poet_kelly
on 9/26/12 6:41 am - OH
What was your vitamin D level last time you had labs done?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Hillery82211
on 9/26/12 6:46 am - New Carrollton, MD
RNY on 08/22/11 with

I don't think Vitamin D levels are related to hair loss...there are studies that link low vitamin D levels with depression though.

Like someone else said, usually low iron levels or low blood protein levels will result in hair loss.  Your hair loss could also be completely unrelated to your vitamin intake and could signal some other issue with your body.

When was the last time you had labs taken?  What is your current vitamin schedule?  I'd suggest you go see your doc for a check up to rule out anything else. 

HW & SW: 363     Surgery date: 8/22/11    
Weighting2Bskinny
on 9/26/12 7:19 am
I need to take mine too, but I don't think my hair has been falling out. Thank God.

GOD BLESS YOU            
solise
on 9/26/12 7:34 am - Brooklyn, NY