Newbie here...Questions about pre op liquid diet

RainbowRN
on 12/4/12 3:19 am - OH
RNY on 03/12/13

Hello!!  I am a newbie here!  I am planning on having gastric bypass.  No surgery date set yet.  I am waiting on the Bariatric Clinic at the hospital that I work at to notify me of whether I am a candiate for the RNY.   I am 35 years old. 5'10" and 365lbs.  I already know that I am but I just have to wait for the  official approval letter.  My insurance covers the RNY.  I am just patiently waiting for my MD appt. 

I have been trying to find out as much info as possible about gastric bypass.  I had a question about the preop liquid diet.  How far in advance do you have to start it?  Is it like a couple days or is it like a couple weeks? 

I am so nervous but so excited.  I feel like I am going to have another chance at life.  I have never felt more awful than I feel now.  I have been reading posts from here for the past few days and I am so motivated at everyone's stories.  Hopefully one day I will be able to post a success story on here. 

Thanks for reading.  :)

ToNewBeginnings
on 12/4/12 4:10 am, edited 12/4/12 4:10 am

Welcome!

I think the average is one week for every 100 pounds you are overweight.

amyred27
on 12/4/12 4:14 am

in Manitoba  it is 2 weeks of boost diabetc ( 5 cans a day)

Jules0225
on 12/4/12 4:18 am