Veggie sprouts protein and meat protein are they the same???

gwheezy41
on 12/28/12 1:31 am - Fullerton, CA

Hi I'm just learning about sprouting and love it, and love peas, mung beans and garbanzo sprouts with diced green onions, cucumbers and tomatoes. I eat this on  daily basis and do my own sprouting now...but I want to know if I'm getting enough protein from sprouts and is it the same kind of protein as in meat?  Thanks   Virginia

BWB
on 12/28/12 1:40 am

Google protein from sprouts.  A lot of interesting facts pop up.

http://www.healthyeatingadvisor.com/sprouts.html

pararomancemom
on 12/28/12 8:46 am - NC
RNY on 03/20/13

Legumes or Beans are a great source of protein.  I love lean chili and love my beans...my nut said this was a good thing for my future protein requirements.  Overall...protein is protein..sounds like you are making some great, healthy choices. frown

Ht: 5'4"; HW 239, SW 220, CW 204, GW125 

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 12/28/12 11:03 am - OH

Technically, no, not all proteins are created equal.  They have different chemical and different amino acid compositions, and some are more readily used by our bodies than others.  Proteins are given a PDCAAS (Protein Digestibility Corrected Amino Acid Score) that tells you how readily the body can digest and absorb a particular type of protein.  You can do a Google search for more information (I do not know about the PDCAAS for sprouts), but here are some basics (the scale is from 0 (not at all digestible/absorbable) to 1 ("completely" digestible/absorbable)):

1.0: milk (whey, casein), egg, and soy proteins

.92: beef and soybeans

.70 - .76: most fruits and vegetables that have protein, and black beans

.64: peas

.6: most legumes

.50-.6: most cereals and nuts

.4: whole wheat protein

.08 (yes, less than .1!): collagen based protein "shots"/"bullets" (so you can see why these are useless)