Labs back... Platelets?

MzKeepinOn
on 1/29/13 7:12 am

Got my lab work back today and my iron is low and so are my platelets.... are they connected in some way?  I can't figure out why my platelets would be low. I understand the Iron. Any help would be appreciated.

RNY 11/27/12

I posted this in the main forum also.

poet_kelly
on 1/29/13 10:21 am - OH

According to this http://labtestsonline.org/understanding/analytes/platelet/ta b/test iron deficiency sometimes causes the platelets to be high, not low.  I would talk to your doc about the platelets. 

Are you increasing your iron?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

rbb825
on 1/29/13 4:18 pm - Suffern, NY

how low is your iron?  How low are your platelets? What is your White blood count? What is your RBC?

Your low iron can be due to any menstruating female having iron deficiency anemia.  I really need to see more of your labs to better answer your question and help you out better.  The other cause of low iron is due to our malabsorbtion from your RNY - you may not be taking enough iron, you may be taking the wrong type of iron, you may be taking it incorrectly.  What is your ferritin level?  your iron sat%, hemoglobin, hemacrit? B12, folate?  How much iron are you taking and what type are you taking? Do you take it with vitamin C and if so, how much C? You should take carbonyl iron with C - for every 30mg of iron, you need 200mg of vitamin C. Depending on how low your iron and ferritin are, determines how much Carbonyl iron you need.  You can get really good iron at vitalady.com called tender irons and they have the C already in them. They are 60mg each.