Gallbladder????

lilisasmith3
on 2/14/13 9:21 am
RNY on 01/31/13

I am at a support group meeting and it is freaking me out hearing all the horror stories. Does everyone get their gallbladder out? I haven't had any major problems but now I am scared.

poet_kelly
on 2/14/13 9:22 am - OH

No, not everyone. About 32% get gallstones after RNY, unless they take a medication called Actigall.  Only 2% of people taking Actigall end up with gall stones.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Oxford Comma Hag
on 2/14/13 9:25 am

About 35% of post ops have gallbladder trouble, and there is a portion of non ops who do as well. But rapid weight loss of any sort can cause issues. Honestly, don't be scared. I had mine out at two months post op. Yes, it hurt, but it was by no means awful. I think people have a tendency to get caught up in telling war stories. Just let a group of women get together and start hashing over childbirth. There are always some who have to try to outdo everyone else. Probably the same thing is happening right now with the GB stories.

I fight badgers with spoons.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 800-273-8255

Suicidepreventionlifeline.org

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 2/14/13 9:26 am - OH

According to the information from my surgeon, about 30% of those who have WLS need to have their gallbladders out within 2 years.  (That seems to be the usual timeframe, although some do develop problems further out than that.)  It is a function of the rapid weight loss, though, not something that is specific to RNY.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

helenm71