Which Surgery?

kimberlygpena
on 2/19/13 12:23 am - Angleton, TX
RNY on 09/24/13

I am so excited that our new insurance at work covers WLS, they cover both the RNY and the VSG. My surgeon stated that I am a good candidate for but but I am still undecided. My question to everyone is Why did you choose RNY?

poet_kelly
on 2/19/13 1:07 am - OH

Mainly because my insurance would not pay for the sleeve.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Turtle Lynn
on 2/19/13 1:18 am - New Castle, DE
RNY on 05/29/12 with

RNY was the only option available to me when I had my LapBand removed.  I had severe esophageal damage from years of reflux caused by the Band.  The sleeve is another what they call high pressure surgery, like the Band and there was concern that the reflux wound continue.  RNY actually cured my reflux.  I also wasn't a candidate for the Duodenal Switch, which was my first choice, for multiple health reasons. 

I was also hoping that with having the RNY my diabetes would go into remission.  I have been a diabetic for approximately 20 years so my chances of remission are not as good as someone who has not had it as long.  However, I am off of my insulin shots and managing my diabetes with just Metformin and diet, and my numbers are fantastic.  I am ALMOST in remission.  I still have some more weight to lose and I am hoping that will do the trick.

You may want to post over on the VSG forum as well and talk to the people over there to see why they chose their surgery and how it is working for them.  

Hope this helps!

HW 287, GW 150,  CW 168   ** Band to RNY 05/29/12 **

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? Join us-Lightweights Board

charjames
on 2/19/13 1:24 am - PA