Eating out advice!

Missstacy
on 3/27/13 10:55 am
Hi all,

I am five weeks post op and have not ventured out to eat at all yet. I was wondering when people started eating out on occasion and what or where they ate? I have some friends who want to meet up for dinner, that don't know I had the surgery and I keep putting it off because I am so nervous to eat out anywhere! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
poet_kelly
on 3/27/13 11:06 am - OH

That early out, I think they will notice you are eating very little and are on a pretty limited diet.  If you want to keep the surgery a secret, you might want to put it off a bit more.

Early out, I ate things like soup and cheese omelets when I went out to eat.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Findingme2013
on 3/27/13 11:30 am
RNY on 02/04/13

My first time out I ate grilled shrimp and do great with it! I try to avoid it just because I would rather know how my food is fixed and what all is use in preparing it.

madeformore
on 3/27/13 11:30 am - MN
RNY on 06/21/12

Chili is a good option too. You could just tell them you had a big lunch, if you really don't want them to know. Or, if your past is like mine - I was always "on a diet" - then you could just say that you are watching what you are eating and they won't really question it.

I ate out early on, but everyone I went out with knew I had surgery so it wasn't a big deal.

Amy

HW: 270   SW: 245   CW: 172  GW: 160 then we'll see  

SarahLee1969
on 3/27/13 11:55 am - NY
I had quiche, didn't eat the crust.
I was quite a bit farther out... probably closer to 3 months as I recall.
Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 3/27/13 12:43 pm - OH