Disney 4-5 months post op???

Jennifer39
on 5/24/13 11:21 pm
Sorry for so many questions guys...
So I have a Disney trip planned at about 4-5 months post op.
This is my first time at Disney and was wondering if anyone had any tips?
Is this a bad idea? Should i postpone the trip?
My cousin (who's the one going with me) wanted me to postpone my surgery... She's insane! No way!!! But I will postpone the trip if need be.

Any suggestions, tips and ideas would be fantastic!
datachick
on 5/24/13 11:32 pm - WA
VSG on 10/26/12

My wife (RNY) and I (VSG) went at about four months post-op. It was fine. We carried a knapsack with sandwiches, mixed nuts, cheese sticks, protein bars and bottles of water. Figure that you'll eat half of what others will eat, so you don't have to carry a ton of stuff. You can refill a water bottle in the park at the drinking fountains, and share a sandwich with your buddy. Even without WLS, it's a nightmare to get food there; you have to pre-get-in-a-line an hour or two before you will be hungry. If you wait until you are hungry, you'll be sorry. The lines are long and the food is standard. And I didn't want to waste time standing in line or sitting amongst 500 other people eating lunch, when all I could eat is a bite or two of hamburger anyway. You'll be better off dragging your own stuff around, even if you weren't a WLS patient. Trust me.

If you know of a particular restaurant you want to go to, you can make reservations. Otherwise, BYOF. Even if you make a reservation for like dinner...odds are it'll be a pain to schedule yourselves to be on that side of the park to eat dinner at that particular time. Or that you'll be able to "schedule" your hunger to happen at that time (if you are even getting hungry at that point). Dragging your food around with you means you can eat when you need to, not waste time at the restaurants, and not spend the money on stuff you can't eat any how.