3 days post-op and so tired

Katie B.
on 6/22/13 7:34 am
Well aside from the painful gas issues I'm having I am also extremely tired. I've been sleeping most of the day! I get up every now and then to walk around the house but then am extremely tired and go back to bed. When will my energy come back?
Kahla L.
on 6/22/13 8:24 am
RNY on 06/19/13

I had surgery on Wednesday and actually went to the grocery store today (but was awfully tired after).  Have you tried GasX to help with the gas pains?  Made a world of difference for me.  Wish I had more advice, but I'm still new at it too!  Good luck!

HW/SW/CW: 312/295/212 (RNY 6/19/13)

Sarahakers11
on 6/22/13 9:49 am - Culpeper, VA
RNY on 06/04/13 with
I asked a similar question about the same time (3 days out). Day 4 was tw worst for me but it got better everyday by the end of 1 week I only needed 1 nap a day. At 2 weeks all pain was gone. I'm 2 and 1/2 now and most days I do fine with just a good 20-40 minute rest during the day.

HW - 297  start of Pre-op - 290.2   SW- 279.2   GW - 145    

The Depressed Hiker Blog

A middle aged over the hump and over what "I'm suppose to do" woman, with the wild spirit and a nasty case of depression and anxiety!

AnchorsAweigh
on 6/22/13 10:17 am

I saw improvement every day but I felt over-tired for about the first 4-6 weeks. Now, at 9 weeks, I have more energy than before!

PaintingJoy
on 6/22/13 10:31 am - GA
RNY on 05/20/13

My first two weeks post op; I took naps most afternoons and didn't do much.  I took 3 full weeks away from work and returned this past Monday.

I'm still not 100% energy level; but when I think back to how I felt pre-surgery, I can honestly say I hadn't realized just how sick I was.  I feel so much better, even with the fatigue.  I have a friend who is exactly 32 days ahead of me.  She said that, for her, the energy level just increased daily. 

Sleep when you feel the need; rest as much as you can.  Your body needs it and you'll be glad if you do later.