Straw users!!

lovedbymany09
on 7/5/13 2:14 am - NC
RNY on 06/03/13

Hello Everyone,

I'm almost 6 weeks out and I haven't been drinking from a straw since surgery. When am I able to go back to using a straw? I miss my straw!!!

The race isn't given to swift nor the strong, but it's given to the ones who endure it to the end...Be Blessed!!!

poet_kelly
on 7/5/13 2:17 am - OH

There is no reason you can't drink from a straw now.  A few people find that using a straw causes them to swallow air and gives them uncomfortable gas, and if that happens to you, then you might want to forego the straw.  Otherwise, there's no reason not to use one now.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

(deactivated member)
on 7/5/13 2:28 am
My doctor said I would never be able to use straws again
He stressed to my husband after my surgery that the no use of straws was an absolute must not. I know others have posted you can use them but I feel it best to listen the my Doctor.
(deactivated member)
on 7/5/13 2:31 am
poet_kelly
on 7/5/13 2:37 am - OH

Why does your doctor recommend against using straws?

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

BellaNY
on 7/6/13 7:55 am

I think it has to do with getting air in your stomach. We were also told not to use straws. I've never used them, so don't remember the reason why.

(deactivated member)
on 7/5/13 2:41 am
(deactivated member)
on 7/5/13 2:43 am, edited 7/5/13 2:46 am