Meal Replacements (delivery) suggestions?

kinny09
on 7/5/13 9:58 am - New York, NY
RNY on 06/11/13

Hi,

I was wondering for those who prefer frozen/pre-portioned meals for convenience and food control sake, do any of you order online/have a favorite store you purchase from? If so, what do you typically order/recommend? I'm 3.5 weeks out and allowed "real food" now (excluding tougher meats like steak, etc. allowed if very tiny bites and tender). I'm looking for foods like pre-packaged chilli, soups, chicken/pasta type meals that are bariatric diet friendly. Thanks!!

HW: 306         Day of Surgery: 299         Current Weight: 172

poet_kelly
on 7/5/13 10:09 am - OH

I'm not sure you're going to find any that are bariatric diet friendly, especially not pasta.  Most frozen meals are really high in sodium and many are  high in carbs.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 7/5/13 11:01 am - OH

I have not seen frozen pre-packaged items that are "bariatric friendly", and as Kelly already pointed out, the regular ones have a lot of sodium.  They also almost all come with some kind of "white carb" (pasta, rice, mashed potatoes) and have tons of chemicals as preservatives.  I occasionally have one just for the convenience, but even at over 5 years out, I never eat more ham 2 bites of the pasta/rice/etc.  I mostly just eat the protein and end up throwing the rest away, which is wasteful and makes me feel a bit guilty.