Gluten Free

abrannume
on 7/9/13 4:50 am - willingboro, NJ
RNY on 04/04/12

I don't understand the whole gluten free thing.  If it's gluten free does that mean it's better for us.  So for instance a better choice for bread would be a gluten free bread vs regular bread. and if i was baking, i could use a gluten free baking mix vs using regular flour? 

poet_kelly
on 7/9/13 5:00 am - OH

Gluten free is better for people with celiac disease, gluten allergies, or gluten intolerance.  Otherwise, no, it's not better.  It does not mean lower in fat or calories or sugar, or anything like that.  Sure, you could use a gluten free baking mix instead of regular flour.  The taste and/or texture of your baked goods might come out differently than you are used to.  But it would not necessarily be healthier for you just because it was gluten free.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

abrannume
on 7/9/13 5:17 am - willingboro, NJ
RNY on 04/04/12

What about other types of flour like almond flour and rice flour, better choices than white and wheat flour?

poet_kelly
on 7/9/13 5:20 am - OH

I guess it depend on what you mean by "better." 

Typical white flour IS wheat flour.  It's just processed until all the wheat germ is removed and bleached to make it white in color.  "Whole wheat" flour has the wheat germ in it, although unless it says "whole grain," it might be a mixture of whole wheat and white flour.

I would guess almond flour would be higher in protein than rice or wheat flour, but I'm not positive about that and I'm too lazy to look it up right now.  You could google the nutritional stats for various types of flour and see what would best meet your needs.