Therapy?

walkingbear36
on 8/7/13 6:40 am - Ferndale, MI

HaPpY HuMP DaY!!!

i haven't had surgery yet, don't have a date yet - i'm working on getting everything done for Insurance approval.

something i read on here when i started researching RNY was to get into therapy before surgery and figure out why i got this way. i started therapy and am going once a week. how many of you went to therapy before surgery and have you continued after your surgery to help you stay focused? did you find that it helped you. just curious.

thanks!

poet_kelly
on 8/7/13 6:45 am - OH

I was in therapy before my RNY for other stuff, not related to my WLS.  But I feel it helped.  A lot of emotions can arise when we can't eat for comfort or to deal with stress anymore.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

dessalves
on 8/7/13 8:13 am

I have been in therapy for almost a year before I felt I was ready to have WLS and I know it helped a lot!! It was really good to make me understand my relationship with food and what I can't repeat in order for this to work. I am certainly going back now, after the surgery, because there are a lot of emotions that are still there and I have to figure out a way to deal with them without over eating. And those things I just said, I would never have said that if I wasn't in therapy. 

One more thing, here in Brazil it is mandatory to have a psychiatry in your surgeon's team to oversee the hole process. 

Katie K.
on 8/7/13 10:23 am - Maitland, FL
RNY on 06/25/13
I've been in therapy for eighteen years and don't really see an end in sight. It helped my get my psych approval. I was just told to continue seeing my therapist and psychiatrist.