pre op wieght loss

marissa1987
on 8/9/13 4:55 am

How did you lose your pre op weight. I need to lose 15lbs.

chulbert
on 8/9/13 5:02 am - Rochester, NY
RNY on 01/21/13

I followed my nutritionist's meal plan to the letter.

poet_kelly
on 8/9/13 5:03 am - OH

I didn't lose any weight pre op.  My surgeon did not ask me to.

If I had to lose weight pre op, though, I would have talked with my registered dietician and followed her recommendations.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Delia C.
on 8/9/13 5:11 am - CA

i am on a liquid diet 2 weeks prior to surgery. I am a week and a half into my liquid diet and i have lost 8 lbs.  I have 3 protein shakes a day and i have chicken broth in between as needed for hunger. also i drink plenty water. I add lemon to my water. Discipline yourself. You can do it!

marissa1987
on 8/9/13 5:19 am

I think im going to have to be tuff on myself I dont see the Nut till next month.

PetHairMagnet
on 8/9/13 5:20 am
RNY on 05/13/13

I was not required to lose any, but did lose a good bit and it was following the advice of my nutritionist and not making adjustments on my own...but asking if I had questions and then following her advice.

I also started being MUCH more active and practicing good post-surgery habits, like water at meals...that became a no no and took some getting used to, but 2 months before my surgery, it was already a solid habit.