1st aponment with nutritionist

marissa1987
on 8/24/13 11:04 am
How did it go did you learn a lot about vitamins or what you are expected to eat after the operation
poet_kelly
on 8/24/13 11:08 am - OH

I saw a registered dietician, not a nutritionist (which is what I suggest every do, since a registered dietician must have  degree in nutrition, pass a licensing exam, and is regulated by the state, none of which is required for a nutritionist. 

But no, I did not learn a lot about vitamins from my dietician, unfortunately,  Most of what I know about vitamins I learned from reading the ASMBS guidelines, doing my own research, and from other well-informed RNY patients.

I did learn about the meal plan I was supposed to follow from my dietician, though.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

tdbull
on 8/24/13 11:39 am - WA
RNY on 08/13/13
Kelly
Any chance you can share your meal plan with us

Lapband surgery in 2009 -  Revision to RNY August 13, 2013 with gallbladder removal.

HW - (260)   SW - (197)   GW - (135), updated on 1-2-14 to 125lbs  HT 5'5"  Goal reached 3/2/14-revised goal to 120 on 3/9/14   reached 4/6/14             

poet_kelly
on 8/24/13 11:47 am - OH

If I remember correctly (it was almost five years ago!), I was on clear liquids in the hospital, then full liquids for one week, pureed foods for one week, soft foods for four weeks, then a regular diet.  I was supposed to eat four to six times day and get at least 60 grams of protein.  A protein shake counted as a meal.  I was supposed to eat 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup food to start with.

By six months post op I was eating 3/4 cup to one cup of most things.  I still eat about one cup of most things at a time.