OT: Female runners - questions about clothing you wear.

Jules0225
on 8/24/13 8:44 am

I'm new to this whole running thing so I have a few questions. For starters ladies how do you keep the girls in line? Sports bras? Any recommendations? Also I'm looking to get some new work out clothing since I've shrunk out of mine. I was peaking at Old Navy and they have these compression pants. Is there any benefit to wearing compression garments as opposed to cotton yoga pants and a tshirt? Thanks! 

Height: 5'8", HW: 6/4/12 440lbs, SW: 11/19/12 389lbs, CW: 219lbs 01/01/2014

Michelle H.
on 8/24/13 8:56 am
RNY on 01/24/13

I am pretty new to running too.  I wear a slimmer tank top over my sports bra that I got at Walmart, compression pants and dri fit shirts. Helps keep everything in place better as I am running. I think the compression garments are better because they wick away the sweat.  Good luck... Also, make sure your shirts have coverage on the arms.  A lot of women's shirts now have really short sleeves and I was having some issues with my arms rubbing thanks to my bat wings :)

heather_leigh1990
on 8/24/13 8:58 am

I'm not a runner yet but I can still answer your questions. Compression wear keeps your muscles warm and wicks away moisture to prevent chaffing and rashes. The make different kinds of compression wear for summer or winter too. the winter keeps your body heat in while the summer is supposed to keep you cool and dry. as far as bra support goes, absolutely sports bras but there are kinds that have a thicker X that runs through the back and I've always felt they wear way more supportive than those without it

Jules0225
on 8/24/13 9:10 am

Any recommendations on where to find a good sports bra or just look for ones with a thicker X in the back? Thank you both for the advice, it looks like compression wear is the way to go! 

Height: 5'8", HW: 6/4/12 440lbs, SW: 11/19/12 389lbs, CW: 219lbs 01/01/2014

heather_leigh1990
on 8/24/13 9:36 am