Iron

molly3613
on 9/8/13 7:33 am - TX
RNY on 01/24/13

My iron is 70 and my ferritin is 143.  At the 3 month labs my ferritin was 167 so going down.  If I bump up my supplement can I give myself too much.  Is it stored in the fat and therefore could be toxic or would I just pee out the excess?  Like B12?

Going to 6 month check tomorrow but I thought I would ask you guys first.

poet_kelly
on 9/8/13 7:41 am - OH

You can take too much of any mineral.  However, if you bump it up a little, that should be fine.  Did your iron drop from your three month labs too or just your ferritin?  That wasn't a big drop in ferritin and 143 is still really good for ferritin, so personally I wouldn't be too worried, although I would definitely keep an eye on it in the future.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

molly3613
on 9/8/13 7:53 am - TX
RNY on 01/24/13

I double checked and at 3 months it only lists ferritin 163.  Then I took the list from vitalady and the list from you and asked for a more, much more, complete draw at 6 months.  So 6 months lists iron 70 and ferritin 143.  Don't know what the 3 month iron was.  I take Sundown Naturals Perfect  Iron 50 mg with 500 mg Vitamin C every night.  Should I double it.  Would that be overkill.  I supplemented my Vitamin D and in 3 months it went from 43 to 116.  I also increased my  B12 and it increased from 556 to 2,000!

What do I do about the iron?  And increase the Vitamin C also.

poet_kelly
on 9/8/13 7:56 am - OH

You're taking two of the Sundown Perfect Iron right now?  'Cause they are 25 mg each - 50 mg per serving and one serving is two pills.