Help with choosing surgery type ???

Robert H.
on 9/17/13 4:14 am - St. Albert, AB, Canada
VSG on 11/26/13

I am a 58 yr old male, current weight 380 lbs. Would like to loose 200 lbs and keep it off. Do not have to choose my surgery choice till the day before the operation which is Nov 26.13.  My surgeon is Dr. Christou from Montreal, my surgery choice is either the RNY bypass or the gastric sleeve.

I have posted this on the main board as well, as a newbie some members indicated it would be best to post on a few related forums.  Any and all comments would be greatly appreciated.

poet_kelly
on 9/17/13 4:23 am - OH

Which does your surgeon recommend and why?  Without knowing a lot more about you, it's hard to say which would be best.  Do you have diabetes?  GERD?  Are you good at taking vitamins?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Robert H.
on 9/17/13 4:45 am - St. Albert, AB, Canada
VSG on 11/26/13

My surgeon leans to the RNY bypass, since it has been around longer and has a more established track record than the sleeve.

He refers to the RNY procedure as the golden standard for extreme obesity.  However he will do whichever surgery you want.

No I do not have gerd or diabetes and I do take various vitamins along with ground flaxseed most days.

poet_kelly
on 9/17/13 4:46 am - OH

If you don't have GERD, with the amount of weight you need to lose, I would personally lean towards RNY.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly