Vitamin B's Need info

JaneJetson60
on 11/11/13 3:34 am, edited 11/11/13 3:40 am
RNY on 05/07/12

Hi Kelly, how much Vitamin B-6 should we be taking and same for B-complex?   Thanks a bunch.   Jane

poet_kelly
on 11/11/13 3:44 am - OH

For B6, twice whatever the RDA is.  I don't remember it off the top of my head.

The ASMBS says a B complex is optional.  I don't want to take any more pills than I have to, so I wouldn't bother with one unless at least a couple of my B vitamins were low.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

JaneJetson60
on 11/11/13 4:16 am, edited 11/11/13 4:17 am
RNY on 05/07/12

Thanks Kelly. I take vitamins religiously and I am starting to have nerve damage in my hands.  I take 1000 mcg's of B-12 everyday but they are having trouble narrowing in down what is going on.  I have labs done every three months because I am having all types of health issues right now.  We are also looking at carpal tunnel syndrome, which would not surprise me at all. I was taking a B-complex right from the get go. Any other suggestions that might help would be appreciated.  Hard to determine what to to recommend with no diagnosis yet.  Hurts like hell to type but I read everyday here and just yell at the screen.  Thanks again.  Jane

poet_kelly
on 11/11/13 4:28 am - OH

What's your B12 level?  Taking a B complex won't help you get more B12, unless it's a sublingual.

What about your thiamine and copper levels?  Those would be the next two likely culprits, supposing it's something nutritional.