Crushed

averybyrd
on 2/19/14 5:27 am

I went to the doctor today and they weighed me, because that's what they do at the doctor's. Then the nurse said, "You've lost 6 pounds!" 

"I've lost 90 pounds," I corrected. 

"Well, you've lost 6 since your last visit!"

Which would be nice to hear, except that my last visit was a month ago. 

Only 6 pounds in a month. Only 6 months out. 

What happened??

poet_kelly
on 2/19/14 5:29 am - OH

What happened is that you've lost 90 lbs in six months.  Are you really crushed by that?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Wendi0209
on 2/19/14 7:13 am
RNY on 09/13/13

I had surgery a month after you and I have slowed to about a pound a week and sometimes less. I don't think it's realistic to believe the big numbers are going to last forever. Six pounds in a month is a good number IMO. I personally think you are a rock star for what you have accomplished already!

good luck,

Wendi

The Salty Hag
on 2/19/14 7:52 am, edited 2/19/14 7:52 am
RNY on 05/20/13

During my 6th to 7th month after surgery, I lost 9 lbs. I am nine months out tomorrow, and I'm down another 24 lbs in the last 3 months. My weight loss seems to come in spurts now, but the overall downward trend is still there. 

You could also be losing inches. 

96 ( or 90! ) lbs in 6 months is pretty freaking awesome. 

I woke up in between a memory and a dream...

Tom Petty

averybyrd
on 2/19/14 8:30 am

Thanks, all! I really needed a little encouragement. I just worry that I'm slowing down TOO much. I guess it doesn't matter as long as it never comes back, right?

And 90 is a pretty huge number, really. I'll focus on that!

tscription
on 2/19/14 12:41 pm