unflavored protein question

gratefulgurl72
on 5/1/14 9:50 am

I have been adding "unflavored" protein powder for my meals, coffee, etc.  The problem I am having is that it doesn't hold up in hot stuff, I've tried adding it after things are cooked and cooled, adding i****ered down already and it doesn't quite work.  Any suggestions on what kind of protein would be better for this?  And still taste good?  Thank you!

poet_kelly
on 5/1/14 9:55 am - OH

I don't understand what you mean by "doesn't hold up."

If you put protein powder directly into hot liquids, like coffee, it will form clumps.  If you mix it with a little room temp liquid first, stir until you get a smooth paste, and then stir that paste into your hot liquid, it won't make clumps like that.  But I don't know if by "doesn't hold up" you are referring to the clumping or something else.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Daisydoo02
on 5/1/14 9:26 pm - GTA, Ontario, Canada
RNY on 11/15/13

Hi gratefulgurl, I am not going to lie, but immediately post op I tried to add unflavoured protein powder to my foods as instructed by my Centre and it was so disgusting that I gagged a few times. I tried it in apple sauce, gross, coffee (even after doing the tempering like Kelly suggested) and it was gross. I tried to sprinkle it on spaghetti sauce, marinara sauce, gross!  So I gave up and bought some Isopure Zero Carb Apple Melon and Grape flavours. That was MUCH better.