Old Habits Creepin in at 11 months

Ehbeagle
on 8/26/14 12:17 pm - Virginia beach, VA

My surgery was 11 months ago , and in that time I have lost 150 lbs.  I am within 5 lbs if my goal weight, and TERRIFIED that I will gain it all back so why am I allowing ld habits to creep back in?

Lately I have been doing a lot if snacking which is NOT on my plan.  For the most part the snack are protein in the form of nuts, beef jerky, etc. but occasionally it is a cookie.  It's not that I am hungry or stressed or sad, eyc but I want something to chew, something in my mouth.  I have tried gum, but it really doesn't satisfy.  

I thought thus this problem would solve itself when I went back to work (I am a teacher), but instead I find myself snacking when I get home like I did before surgery(my problem time).  So, I KNOW what the problem is, and I KNOW I need to stop, but I am afraid I won't like so many diets before.

I don't know if I want advice or sympathy from those who may have experienced something similar, I just KNOW that I had to write it all down.  Something about writing it out makes it better, maybe makes me accountable.  Anyway thanks for "listening".

White Dove
on 8/26/14 12:33 pm - Warren, OH

I pretty much don't eat meals.  I have six snacks a day.  Eating every three hours seems to keep me from wanting to graze.  I track what I eat and stay at 1400 calories a day.  If I don't weigh myself daily, I will gain weight back.  Check out the Eggface site for things that you will enjoy as snacks and keep things out of your house that will cause you to go off of your plan.  

Old habits are tough.  One thing that helps me is going directly from work to the gym.  After a workout I don't feel as hungry.  

Concentrate on high protein and make sure you are eating things that you enjoy.  During the second year after surgery most people can pretty much get away with eating anything and malabsorption saves them from regain.