Frustrated with my cpap

JordynsMommy
on 11/18/11 6:59 pm - PA
VSG on 05/10/12
I'm so frustrated with my cpap machine!!!! It is not keeping me sleep. I wake up, on average 3-4 times a night with a very dry mouth and also with phlegm in my throat. I still wake up tired and still napping during the day. I just don't understand why I can only sleep for 2 hours on this thing and then I'm popping up. Btw, I'm on the ResMed S9 (with humifier****ep the humidifier between 65 and 70. I have been on this machine for months, I'm not a newbie. On top of all this, I take Ambien. I know for sure I should be getting at least a full 8 hours of sleep. Help me please!! I am so tired, I just want to rest. My 18 month old son is very active and keeps me busy all day long. I need my rest. My current sleep physician and I have discussed this and she keeps switching different masks but clearly that is not working. I need a solution. Should I be seeing another sleep dr or what, I don't know. Help me.
ND2BTHN
on 6/9/12 2:06 pm - Canada
VSG on 01/16/12
 Hi, I can relate. I never got used to my cpap, after several months of trying. I don't want to scare you but I just read a post on the main board about a man with apnea who just died in his sleep with his mask on while using Ambien. I don't know if the drug is counter acting with the effectiveness of your machine but it is worth looking in to. Also maybe the pressure isn't right for you anymore, and need it adjusted. Running after an 18 month old can be very hard on the mom the most, since we are tuned into every little sound or movement they make at night, which also affects our quality of sleep. Try some relaxation techniques to help you relax better before bed. Any stress issues can also be contributing to your wakings as well. If all of this doesn't help, then try looking for a second opinion with another sleep doctor. Good luck.

HW: 235   SW:227   Preopw:218   GW:120   HT:5'3  
Diabolique
on 8/3/12 9:51 pm - Las Vegas, NV