Surgery date -- finally, but I'm really nervous!

luv2bowljen
on 9/28/04 5:08 am - Lisle, IL
Hi. I'm kind of new to this whole thing, but here goes. My husband has a surgery date. He went to see the surgeon in July, got approved by Humana HMO in September, and now he has a date. I am trying to be supportive, but I am REALLY nervous about this. The thing is that even though I've known for a long time that he was not going to be able to lose weight by conventional means, it really hasn't ever mattered to me one way or the other. By that I mean, I don't personally care that he's fat. I know it bothers him sometimes, especially when there is something he wants to do with the kids that he just can't. BUT -- I feel like his doctor is copping out a little bit here. By the way, my husband has low cholesterol, borderline high blood pressure (his medicine for this is less than a milligram every day!) no diabetes, sleep apnea, which is likely more related to his asthma (which he's had from birth) than it is to his weight. So why the surgery? He has a bone condition in his feet that is causing them to disintegrate from the top down. His PCP wants him to have the surgery (not having tried anything else, really) so that his feet will heal faster after he has that surgery! I'm not opposed to the surgery, per se. I initially went along with this because I felt certain that our HMO would turn us down and that would be that - in fact, I believe my husband thought the same. I am just not wholly convinced that this is the right thing for HIM. Of course, now that this is staring us in the face, I feel as though I cannot offer anything other than unwavering support. I think more than anything else, I'm horribly worried that instead of a relatively healthy (albeit not agile) fat husband, I'm going to wind up with a dead one. Have any of you felt like this, or something similar? I think maybe I just need to talk to someone about this -- and he's usually the one I turn to, but in this case,