Nervous about taking off of work for surgery

tillmadd
on 8/6/11 3:39 pm - WI
I was wondering if you guys can give me some advice and reassurance. I was hoping to be scheduled for surgery by mid-August as I am a elementary school teacher and school starts Sept 1. I am waiting for insurance approval and highly doubt I will make that deadline. My surgery cannot be put of too long as my type 2 diabetes is worsening. How can I justify taking time away from my students to get this surgery in late Aug or early Sept??? Any advise?
HW 314    SW 297 Thanks for the season Packers! 15-2!!
**CW 234 month 1-23 month 2-14 month 3-13 month 4-11 

tanieanie
on 8/6/11 4:07 pm - WI
Hello,  I had a similar situation as I work for CESA.  I finally just told the Director of education that I had a medical issue that needed surgery and had a letter from my surgeon saying that recovery would take a month.  That seemed to satisfy them.   Remember that this is a medical procedure you need or the surgeon wouldn't have suggested it.  By the way... what part of WI are you in?

tillmadd
on 8/7/11 3:24 am - WI
 Tanieanie- I am in Milwaukee you can email me privately on [email protected] ...I would like to hear more about your sleeve experience. Deb
anewsweetjessa
on 8/6/11 6:51 pm - IA
Tanieanie I have to say CESA was amazing for me as a Teen age mom just want4ed to give you some credit where credit was due Keep up the amazing work
tanieanie
on 8/7/11 12:05 am - WI
Thank you,  I love my job!  It gives me the oppertunity to help and feel good about what Ive done when I go home.  Of course there are always those hard cases.

tanya

michele287
on 8/6/11 11:22 pm
My surgeon said I could return to work in 10-14 days. I don't think you'll need a month. I am 11 days post-op and feel like I could go back to work. The only thing that I couldn't do right now is lift. You may feel tired, but you could get through the first week or so. I feel more energetic and more like myself every day. Good Luck!