My head is not in the game!!

SkinnyJeansSoon
on 10/10/11 4:04 am
I am on my pre-op diet and have surgery on Oct. 20th. I have these thoughts like "I will never be able to eat this again" so I want to cram it in before surgery. I am setting myself up to fail and doing a really horrible job with my pre op diet. Did anyone else do poorly with preop and then do fantastic post op?

I have been gearing up for this surgery for 4 years and am so ready but am having last minute anxiety, is this normal?

(VSG - 10/20/2011)
HT: 5'9

jennifer K.
on 10/10/11 4:30 am - OH
this is totally normal. I went through the same thing. Now looking back I feel silly - because you technically can still eat the foods you enjoyed pre-surgery just in much smaller quantites - granted you do have to give them up the first 2-3 months due to healing. I am 3 months out and food tastes and smells different - it is odd how some things that were triggers before are no long appealing. I also got really nervous right before surgery - since it was my first surgery and all that. Trust yourself and your surgeon and you will be fine. follow all their instructions to the letter for the most optimal healing! good luck to you!!
Jennifer
HW:330, Class W: 300  SW: 279 (7/13)
1m: 257 - 22 lbs/ 2m: 241 - 17 lbs/ 3m 231 - 10 lbs/ 4m  221 - 10 lbs/ 5m 210 -11lbs

USAF Wife
on 10/10/11 5:10 am
It's post like this that remind of how grateful I am that all I had to do was low carb/high protein diet for 1 week before surgery.

Anyways, food funerals are normal, they aren't conducive, but they happen. I had one, it was farewell food tour. . . I didn't gain or lose any weight, my liver looked great doing the low carb thing.

Rest assured, you'll be able to eat everything your little heart desires once you're at goal, and adjisting to life post-op ! ! !