Deciding between VSG & RNY Still not sure which is best for me. What was the deciding...

GypsyMom3
on 10/13/11 10:58 pm
RNY on 09/17/12
So currently I am just beginning the process for weight loss surgery. Have 2 appointments in November for the seminars so I know they will clarify all of this for me. But until then I am still doing my own research online and talking with people who have already gone through this experience. I was wondering what the major difference was from RNY and VSG and what made you chose the procedure you did? What was the deciding factors for you? Honestly I was leaning more toward the VSG only because from what I read... it seemed to have less major side effects/complications. However, I heard you lose more with the RNY and faster. However, I was wondering how bad the side effects of it were. Like hair loss, food getting stuck and vitamin deficiencies. Most of the people I spoke with only knew of the RNY which they had done. I realize the VSG is fairly new. Appreciate your input thank you!
(deactivated member)
on 10/13/11 11:09 pm
People I work with have had RNY.  A couple of them told me that if it had been an approved surgery they would have rather had the VSG.  I am biased because I am STOKED about getting the VSG, but for me it's the malabsorbtion issue I don't want to deal with.  I am already anemic, b-12 and D3 defficient.  I have to inject myself weekly with B-12.  So, I just do not want to deal with the malabsorbtion.  I have seen GREAT success stories with VSG that compare with RNY.  It's all about the work you put into it. I wish you luck in your decision, and hope that whatever you choose, you will be successful.
anninva
on 10/13/11 11:21 pm - Arlington, VA
VSG on 01/10/11 with