Hair Loss!! Attn: Veteran Sleevers!

koverturf
on 11/3/11 4:54 am - CA
I have lost about 40% of my volume! I wanted to ask some veteran sleevers how they were able to slow it or regain hair growth?
I am 8 months out and I have been lossing my hair for the last 3 months in total I have lost 40% of my total volume. I have alot of breakage and some new growth but I am freaking out that I will lose more. Is there something I can do with my diet to help slow it down or reverse it??

LosingLZ
on 11/3/11 5:23 am
I will be interested in the answers. I am taking vitamins and hoping for the best but the loss has begun in earnest!  I am looking at hats!
emelar
on 11/3/11 5:32 am - TX
I started losing at 4 1/2 months at an alarming rate.  It's slowed down considerably and new growth is coming in.

There's probably not much you can do to stop the loss.  The hair is already dead and is being pushed out.  To encourage healthy hair growth:

1.  Biotin capsule 5000mcgs
2.  Nioxin shampoo/conditioner
3.  Make sure you're getting your protein in
4.  Make sure you're getting your iron, that you're not anemic

There are other deficiencies that contribute to your hair growth, but protein and iron are the biggies.

Short term solution - shorter, layered haircut will make your hair look fuller.  Products like the Joan Rivers powder or X-Fusion (keratin powders) can be applied for a fuller appearance.  And then you pray and wait for it to grow back! 
sundaymorning
on 11/3/11 5:33 am
 My hair stopped at around my 7th-8th month.  The last month was the worst for me and my hair looked thin and weak.  I made sure to keep up on my protein and vitamins and added biotin to my vitamins (I also found a product/spray that contained biotin from pureology).  I have a lot of regrowth which looks like alittle bean sprout patch on the top of my head.  
loverofcats
on 11/3/11 5:33 am