One Week til Surgery

Teresa H.
on 12/27/11 5:19 am
VSG on 01/03/12
Today, I had an "oh my god moment". I am really going to have my gastric sleeve in a week.
Jan. 3rd, So very excited, scared, and totally freaking myself out. This surgery will be a good thing for me and my body. But, I've never had surgery, all along I have been telling my kids, parents, husband etc and I have been calling it a procedure...But it is a major life changing surgery. I have been preparing for this for the past 5 months and I am ready for the changes in diet and lifestyle. However, not so sure on the whole operating room thing. Please someone tell me it'll be okay. 
Terry H.
on 12/27/11 5:33 am
 Hey! I'm a T.Harrison too.

I worried about a lot of things before the surgery.  I was worried my friends wouldn't understand or be supporting - they were.  I worried I wouldn't enjoy going out to dinner anymore - I do.  I was worried that my wife would tire of our dietary differences - she has been terrific.   I worried that something would go wrong with the surgery - it didn't.  And the list goes on and on.  Truthfully, while I know that many people have problems, this has been easier than I expected.  

This was my first surgery since I had my tonsils out as a kid.  The people that do this are pros!  My last memory was of seeing the operating room and my next one was waking up in recovery.  All of the people during the day of surgery were wonderful to me and concerned about me.  I'm sure that your team will be the same.  

Hang in there and focus on your new life to come.  It will be worth overcoming your fears.

HW 420 SW 369  Pre-Op -51 lbs; M1-19;M2-15;M3-14;M4 -14;M5-13; M6- 14;M7-14;M8-10;M9-11;M10-11;M11-9;M12-7;M13-7;M14-5; M15-7; M16-8. M17-3. M18-6; M19-5. Goal of 200 (220 Lost) Reached Month 15. Goal of 180 (240 lost) reached at 18 months 10 days on 4/.20/13.  57% body weight lost@180.  Now on maintenance. Low weight 169.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com

Beyond Goal