How soon did you go back to work?

lbarksdale1
on 1/26/12 12:14 pm - TN
VSG on 02/02/12

Hi OH! I am a week out from leaving 80% of my stomach in Tijuana and I came across a woman who also had VSG who told me that she was off work for 4 weeks after surgery and wishes she had 6 weeks. Not good. Now she's a nurse, so she is required to be on her feet alot, so hopefully since I sit behind a desk all day, I will be out no longer than 2 weeks. I know everyone's experience is different though, so how long was it before you felt up to going back to work?

moonglo82
on 1/26/12 12:17 pm
VSG on 03/29/12
My husband was out for about a week. He has a desk job, and from what he tells me, he was perfectly fine to return to work within that week. A friend of mine had a similar experience.

As a teacher, I am having mine done the middle of the week before spring break so that I have a whole week once I get home before I return, but I honestly don't anticipate returning being a struggle at that point.

But, like you said, everyone is different. What has your doctor said?

Highest weight: 277 Starting Weight: 250  Surgery Weight: 241  Current Weight: 130

Goal Reached in 10.5 months :)

lbarksdale1
on 1/26/12 9:09 pm - TN
VSG on 02/02/12
The doctor said he will give me a note for 2 weeks, which I'm seriously hoping is enough because unfortunately, with my job, there really isn't a good time to be out for more than a week. I'm having he surgery on a Thursday and hope that I will be up to working from home at least a few hours a day the following week. We'll see if that is too ambitious, but I'm a workaholic.
christine2509
on 1/26/12 12:30 pm - canyon country, CA
my job in retail i couldnt stand for 5 mins after 2 weeks out i had to take more 2 weeks but if you have office work it wont be a problem for u
Nevada-Fluffy
on 1/26/12 1:01 pm - Henderson, NV