Mirena IUD

Lissette M.
on 7/31/12 9:59 pm - NJ
VSG on 08/11/11 with
My one year anniversary will be on August 11th, but I have noticed that since I had the Mirena inserted, in May, it has been very difficult to lose weight. Should I have waited to reach my goal weight then had it inserted?? Or it this just all the weight I will lose?

Kris R.
on 7/31/12 10:33 pm - Walworth, NY
Hi,  I'm no expert, but I would say your stall is related to the Mirena.  It didn't matter what sort of bcp i went on or anything like that, i would gain weight.  10 to 15 pounds.  Have it removed and go from there.

You can't take care of them, if you don't take care of you!!
Band 10/2006, removal 10/2010, VSG 02/08/2016

aimnic
on 7/31/12 10:44 pm - VA
VSG on 04/30/12 with
i have the mirena and it doesn't seem to be affecting my loss.  however, i just had surgery this past april and my mirena has been in for about 2 years.  maybe in time you'll find that it's not as hard?  i'm not sure...i know these things affect everyone differently!  i'd talk to your gyno about it for sure! 

good luck to you!

Aimee
Starting Weight - 323.6
Surgery Weight - 308.2
Latse
on 7/31/12 11:19 pm
VSG on 06/18/12
The Mirena IUD has a hormone in it, that may be why your weight loss has stalled.  If after reviewing your diet and workout journals you can find no other reason for the stall, talk to your doctor about the copper IUD that does not have any hormones.  I think it is called prevnar.  I had the Mirena for 5 years and then switched to the copper one.

Starting/Highest Weight 340, Surgery Weight 306,
Post op:
M1-20lb, M2-14, M3-15, M4-11, M5-10, M6-10, M7-8, M8-4, M9-4, M10-5

Lissette M.
on 7/31/12 11:23 pm - NJ
VSG on 08/11/11 with
Thanks for the input ladies. I lost 2 pounds this week, so maybe I can't blame it all on the Mirena

LiveLoveHappy
on 8/1/12 12:46 am
VSG on 07/10/12