Singing

Michael L.
on 8/6/12 6:20 am - Fall River, MA
I have a crazy question.

Are there any professional vocalists on here who have had the sleeve. I'm trying to gauge what to expect for recovery. I know when singing I fill my lungs with air. The air vibrates my vocal chords making sound. But I have to think that my stomach muscles are a delivery system of the air. I can't help to think its gonna be tough for a while. Not to mention how fatiguing it will probably be.

Anyone have any experience they can chime in with?

hw 500  sw 462  cw 383     

Evymetalmommy
on 8/6/12 6:53 am - LA
VSG on 04/19/12
I can chime in.  I'm no professional but I've been singing since I was born.  I was going to go to Berklee College of Music but instead decided to waste 10 years in depression.  All of that being said here is how it went for me.

I had the same concerns that you did.  I was afraid that the surgery would cost me my voice.  It did not.  The first few days I thought it was over bec it did in fact hurt to inhale.  However you need to be taking those deep breaths anyway.  So ultimately me forcing myself to sing got me moving right along.

It was only MILDLY uncomfortable for the first couple of weeks.  I cannot tell you how much better I feel after surgery.  No more than a month of struggling w/ singing of any sort for me.  That includes feeling fatigued.
incredibleshrinkingevy.blogspot.com/ My Blog!!

vogue
on 8/13/12 8:46 am
VSG on 08/30/12
Did either of you have hernia repair or just VSG?? from reading around, it seems that makes a difference on it one can sing well enough for a performance soon after surgery...
vogue
on 8/13/12 8:48 am
VSG on 08/30/12
On August 6, 2012 at 1:20 PM Pacific Time, Michael L. wrote:
I have a crazy question.