Newbie with questions

anniel1015
on 8/17/12 4:43 pm
 I'm a newbie with some questions.   I had my group nutrition assessment last night and my first one on one meeting with the dietitian on September 13th. I'm going to go through the materials I was given and try to make a shopping list before I get groceries this weekend. Anyone have any must haves for me. FYI- I can not tolerate milk, yogurt or cottage cheese. I tend to have a tough time with lunches especially since I work from home now and the animals end up begging for my attention, plus I only get 30min for lunch. I really want to start making quinoa, but have no idea how or what to mix with it. Someone made a salad once at a work event and it was delicious. I'm doing really well with cutting back on the soda. My biggest issue is going to be ice cream. Anyone have any really good substitutes for snacks?  If you have any more advice I'd appreciate it.  I'm really trying to lose a good 10% if not more before surgery.
ParisGirl
on 8/17/12 5:09 pm
VSG on 04/25/13
I'm Pre-op too. Check out worldaccordingtoeggface.com. She has some great recipes, including protein ice cream. Good luck. I'm at the same stage you are. My one on one NUT appt is 9/20.

Italian-Princess
on 8/17/12 5:13 pm - IL
VSG on 06/28/12
Hi Annie

Welcome aboard!

Now let's deal with that quinoa.............not a good idea at all.  A serving of about 6.5 ounces (a very large portion BTW and too big for a new sleever) carries a carb load of 39 grams and protein of only 8 grams............and that's 220 calories.  Just the calories alone take over 1/3 of most early post-oper's total for the day.  The carb load is horrible.  For me, that's 2 whole days of carbs -- though for a lot of people, it would be one entire day's worth.