Looking for advice for getting through my protein only week pre-surgery

KristenT0823
on 4/11/13 4:17 am - MI

Hi All,

I am new to OH and I'm having the VSG on April 22nd.  I start my protein only week on the 15th and I'm worried about being around food!  What strategies did you use to help you through this time?

Jackie T.
on 4/11/13 4:26 am - KS
VSG on 12/19/12

I am assuming you are talking protein (shakes) liquid diet?  I wish i had words of wisdom on this one but you just have to keep your eye on the prize.  Remember that most doctors are putting you on this diet because they want your liver to shrink to make the surgery easier.  This is the phase where you just have to "suck it up" and get through it.  If seeing others eating bothers you, then you need to just let your family know and go for a walk or find something else to do during that time.  Remember it is only for a few days and then that part will be over.  The first few weeks are going to be tough because you may have "head hunger" but again keep moving and it will help. 

Congrats on your surgery date!

Highest Weight: 285 SW: 264.6 CW:163.1   Surgeon's GW: 189  PCP's GW: 165-170  

My GW:  154   MFP:  jteaford                  

zra
on 4/11/13 4:35 am
VSG on 02/06/13 with

You just have to white knuckle it. My cravings let up a little by the fourth day. If you're allowed, drink a lot of broth and eat a lot of sugar free Jello. Those were life savers for me. Remind yourself that you're doing this so you can have a safe and successful surgery. Good luck!

HW: 363  SW: 340  

MichelleLarra
on 4/11/13 4:41 am - NY