Grilling out - share your tips/recipes/techniques to keep is VSG friendly

christib1975
on 4/14/13 5:45 am - KS
VSG on 03/04/13

Hey all...since spring has sprung and hundreds of thousands of grills and smokers are firing up across the land, lets talk about meat...or meat alternatives...any tips or recipes you use now to keep these tasty treats VSG friendly?

Since I am still relatively new in my journey, I haven't done much besides a salmon burger and today I am trying smoked turkey and smoked pork loin with a little Jack Stack BBQ sauce.

For those of you that are further out...have you tried anything new? Any new sauces or types of meat? Anyone grilled tofu?

HW: 324  CW: 201.4

sleevegirl
on 4/14/13 5:53 am - Austin, TX

We just throw it on the grill with a homemade sauce with little to no sugar or other high calorie crap. My fave is chicken with lime juice and a little chili powder.

Candy from Austin, TX  |   Website  |  MyFitnessPal  |  My OH Blog

5'6" / HW 375 / SW 355 / CW 150 / Maintaining 155-159 - Goal Reached! 225 Pounds Lost

hshelley386
on 4/14/13 6:24 am - IN

that sounds good, do you marinate it in the lime juice or mix that with the chili powder and just  brush on top??

sleevegirl
on 4/14/13 9:05 am - Austin, TX

We do marinate it, but it's acidic so it will "cook" it a little, but not a huge problem. You can also buy "True Lime" just like the True Lemon that is dehydrated lime juice and just use that if you don't plan ahead LOL... we don't plan ahead a lot ;) We just shake the powder on.

We also do lemon pepper.

Yeah, I like citrus ;)

The True Lemon, Lime and Orange is really great for a burst of flavor.

Candy from Austin, TX  |   Website  |  MyFitnessPal  |  My OH Blog

5'6" / HW 375 / SW 355 / CW 150 / Maintaining 155-159 - Goal Reached! 225 Pounds Lost

INgirl
on 4/14/13 7:16 am

Anything that walks or swims I will grill kiss.