My Swan Song with Lane Bryant

Diana E.
on 9/29/13 9:03 am
VSG on 03/27/13

I am barely, and I do mean barely in the smallest size at LB.  I've been shopping there for over 20 years.  Heck, I even worked there for 5.  Started out at part time sales and left as Store Manager (10 years ago).  So needless to say, the store feels like home.

Went in today, knowing it was my last shopping experience with them (at least it better be).  People in there don't recognize me anymore and that's fine.... means I'm losing lots!  I went in and had some shoes to return (even their shoes are too wide for me now) and a couple real woman dollars to go ahead and use.  The clerk did her normal speal  about the credit card.  I said no thank you..... but the girl wouldn't stop.  So I politely said I had WLS, and I'm barely fitting into the 14's at this point, so thank you, but no thank you.  She rings me up. I hand over the discount cards and she sees I have 5 left.  Clearly, I don't want to use all 5 because it would really be wasteful on my part, given the fact that I have about 4-6 weeks left in my 14's.  I just needed a couple warm items to get me by for now.  Then she starts yammering on about how I should spend the RWD because I shouldn't let them go to waste.... again, politely said I got what I needed to get me by in my current size.  BUT SHE WOULDN'T STOP... so I said, really, I am already pushing it with the 14's the way it is, I can wear 12's, but feel more comfortable for the next few weeks in a 14.  That little turd rolled her eyes at me.  I'm quite certain she doesn't recall the nearly $1,000 transaction she got from me about 4 months ago when I bought a plethora of clothing in 4 or 5 different sizes to get me through.  She was walking on air that day.  I said yes to just about everything she showed me.. AND had her get 2 sizes if I really like it.