Why VSG? Deciding between RNY

Marissa G.
on 11/13/13 5:26 am - CA

Hey guys!! 

Im fairly new to the VSG forum and my pre-op journey has been over 9months.  I was originially scheduled to have a bypass on Sept 16th but I decided to cancel because I wasn't confident in my decision and the huge lifestyle change.

When I finally got to see my surgeon for a pre-op visit to cover any last questions, he really gave me a good persepctive on the sleeve.  I never even thought I would get any of these proceders when I first went to his seminar (i thought id just get the lapband). 

So I am wondering, why did you choose VSG over RNY?   

But even further, I am kind of freaked out about having a permantely smaler stomach with the procedure being pretty new (only 10 years now).  Did you think about these things in your decision? 

Thank you so much!! i need some support on here and getting pretty nervous for my surgery! 

SassyItalian
on 11/13/13 5:41 am - Basseterre, St. Kitts and Nevis

I chose VSG for several reasons.

One being you have a more normal anatomy. The stomach is made smaller, but all else is normal. Less vitamin deficiency and malabsorption this way.

I am a medical student, so I see what goes wrong when intestines are played with, with a bypass, they reroute your intestines.

Also, they leave a portion of the stomach there, and there is as far as I know, no way to ever scope it if need be, check for cancer, etc.

Bypass is valuable in certain cir****tances, I just felt like it was a "less extreme" option. I also just sat in on a bariatric information seminar with my mother, and it looks like the newest data is showing the VSG rivaling Bypass for weight loss. So if it came down to the same results with each, I would take the one that doesnt mess with the intestines.