Travel

Nata-Sleeve
on 7/2/14 8:36 am

Hi VSG-ers! I am new to the OH site, this is my first post. I am pre-op, scheduled to have the surgery on July 22! Very excited and nervous too. My question is about traveling in the first 6 months. Did any of you travel after surgery? If so, how long after surgery before you could fly? How did traveling affect your ability to plan your meals? What about protein shakes, are they harder to get in while you're on the road?

My job requires me to travel a lot and I want to plan for success now so I won't be in trouble later. Any tips or tricks are very appreciated! Its nice to meet you all. :)

HW: 310, SW:??? (7/22/14), GW: 175

sillymilly
on 7/2/14 10:05 am - NC
VSG on 07/17/13

There's no set amount of time you have to wait to fly after surgery - people have it done in Mexico and fly back home within days.  I personally had my first flight 3 months after surgery.  I did make sure to pack a bunch of protein bars just in case I got stuck somewhere although I could always find muscle milk in the shops, and plenty of meat in the restaurants.  Another good suggestion for travel food is the pouches of tuna - just make sure you have a fork!

Highest weight:  287    Surgery weight:  279   Current weight:  150

Nata-Sleeve
on 7/3/14 6:13 am

Thank you for your response. You're right about people flying directly after surgery--I should have thought of that. (Duh!)

Good suggestion on the tuna envelope thingy-s too. I am eating those now on my pre-op diet and they're not bad.

I will also pack protein bars, great suggestion. I much prefer the bars to the shakes. How long after your surgery did you have to wait until you could eat the bars again?

chriswife19
on 7/2/14 10:43 am
VSG on 05/28/14