Question for all you nutritional experts

FreeFran
on 10/3/14 6:54 am

I'm just over three weeks post op and still on puréed foods. I hate Protein shakes, but I love tuna fish. Can't I just eat more tuna instead of drinking more Protein. It has less calories, no fat or carbs and is a little higher in Protein. I'm happy eating it plain so I'm not even adding anything to it. Am I missing something?

One more thing. Since the liquid and puréed diet I have been under 500 calories a day. I could eat more, but now I'm terrified I will those even less weight if I do. Is 500 to low?  I think I need a one on one with a nutritionist but in the meantime any and all input is appreciated. 

wyo_sarah
on 10/3/14 7:25 am

I'm not a nutritional expert by any means.  I'm 2 months post op.  My surgeon said to eat 3 meals a day and drink 3 protein drinks.  I was having a really hard time drinking those shakes and was trying to get my protein in with food alone.  It was difficult but I was getting 60 grams a day.  My weight loss started to slow down so I thought maybe adding some more protein would help.  I bought some protein shots (most people on here say they are a waste, but my nutritionist recommended them and the ones I bought have whey protein in them) and I also bought some Isopure plus drinks that taste a lot like Gatorade.  It isn't fabulous, but it has 15 grams of protein in an 8 ounce drink and it doesn't leave that awful after taste most of the shakes I've tried do.  So, that being said, I have lost 4 lbs in 4 days since I started adding more protein.  Before that I was losing about 2 lbs a week for the last 2 weeks.  As for the calorie count, my doctor said not to worry about calories at all right now, just to worry about protein.

I hope that helps!  Good luck!

FreeFran
on 10/3/14 7:33 am

Thank you. I will look into those and see if that helps. It sounds like I can really use a nutritionist.  

Amy M.
on 10/3/14 9:18 am, edited 10/3/14 9:19 am - Grand Island, NY