VSG

Christopher4792
on 4/4/18 12:43 pm
VSG on 09/19/18

Hello Everyone,

My name is Christopher, I'm pretty new to this whole obesity forum thing. I signed up because I felt like I needed some support and guidance throughout this process for my VSG that i'll be getting in September. I have all my doctors appointments scheduled as per doctors orders. I have already seen my Gastroenterologist this past Monday and I have my endoscopy scheduled for next Friday April 13th at 2:30 in the afternoon. So far so good, no real nerves or anxiety yet. What should I expect over the course of the next couple of months as far as doctors appointments and procedures are concerned?

Thank you everyone in advance for being supportive.

CC C.
on 4/4/18 2:49 pm

Welcome, Christopher! There isn't a standard way the time is spent between starting the process and getting to surgery. Much is dependent on what your insurance requires and some based on surgeon's requirements. But at a general level, follow the directions for what they tell you to do and the time will pass so quickly! Use the time to learn everything you can about post-operative eating. Practice eating slowly. Practice not drinking while eating and 30 minutes afterwards. Learn about higher protein foods. Cut out habits like carbonated liquids. Easing into new habits can be easier than quitting cold turkey. Also try to avoid the "food funeral" mentality - wanting to eat every unhealthy thing you love in big quantities because you might never eat it again. It's not worth it and some of those things you'll be able to enjoy in smaller quanities later or in altered ways that make them healthier. Also, consider therapy if you haven't already. It can really help to develop coping mechanisms that don't involve food and helpful as you undergo such a radical life change.